Our holiday season hours of operation

We know our customers are looking ahead to arrangements over the Christmas and New Year’s period.

So we want to make sure you have Napier Port’s hours of operation well in advance, to help you with logistics and planning.

Please find our holiday season hours of operation set out below. Napier Port will be closed on weekends and public holidays between 22 December 2018 and 6 January 2019.

Please also note: The Container Terminal and Thames Street Depot will reopen on Saturdays from 12 January 2019.

DAY DATE PORT R&D THAMES ST DEPOT
Saturday 22-Dec-18 CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday 23-Dec-18 CLOSED CLOSED
Monday 24-Dec-18 0700 – 1600 0700 – 1600
Tuesday 25-Dec-18 CLOSED CLOSED
Wednesday 26-Dec-18 CLOSED CLOSED
Thursday 27-Dec-18 0700 – 1730* 0700 – 1730
Friday 28-Dec-18 0700 – 1730* 0700 – 1730
Saturday 29-Dec-18 CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday 30-Dec-18 CLOSED CLOSED
Monday 31-Dec-18 0700 – 1600 0700 – 1600
Tuesday 1-Jan-19 CLOSED CLOSED
Wednesday 2-Jan-19 CLOSED CLOSED
Thursday 3-Jan-19 0700 – 1730* 0700 – 1730
Friday 4-Jan-19 0700 – 1730* 0700 – 1730
Saturday 5-Jan-19 CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday 6-Jan-19 CLOSED CLOSED
Monday 7-Jan-19 0700 – 1730* 0700 – 1730
Tuesday 8-Jan-19 0700 – 1730* 0700 – 1730
Wednesday 9-Jan-19 0700 – 1730* 0700 – 1730
Thursday 10-Jan-19 0700 – 1730* 0700 – 1730
Friday 11-Jan-19 0700 – 1730* 0700 – 1730
Saturday 12-Jan-19 RE-OPEN 0700 – 1200 RE-OPEN 0700 – 1200
Sunday 13-Jan-19 CLOSED CLOSED


*Late process – zones 18 to 19 (
no late process on Christmas Eve or New Year’s Eve)

On the days marked with an astrisk, Napier Port will offer a late process of import, export and empty de-hire containers, provided that the following conditions are met:

  • The export container has been pre-advised through the Community Access Portal or business-to-business EDI messaging by 5:00pm.
  • The empty de-hire container is for a Napier Port depot customer*
  • The import container to be collected is a specific nominated container and not a hazardous or out of gauge container (no block stack containers)
  • The container has a manifested VBS booking by 5:00pm. Multiple containers for the same truck must be manifested together for one TVA number
  • The truck enters through Port Security at the Eastern Gate (Marine Parade end) from 5:40pm onwards.

*Empty container returns: Please ensure you have the correct delivery details before returning an empty container to Napier Port. If you are unsure where to deliver an empty container, please check with the shipping line. Alternatively, use track-trace.com to find the empty delivery location. 

If you have any questions about Napier Port’s holiday season hours of operation, please contact our Container Operations Manager, Warren Young: warreny@napierport.co.nz.

Scroll-top