Board of Directors

Leading the way

Napier Port delivers great results because we have the right team of people. We’re united in our objective to be the leading destination and departure point for shipping in central New Zealand.

Board Charter

Code of Ethics

Meet our directors

Our Board of Directors has been carefully selected to bring together a diverse range of skills and expertise. With both local and national experience across a broad selection of industries, our team is well placed to steer Napier Port to deliver current targets and future successes.

An experienced director, Alasdair joined the Napier Port board in April 2014 and took up the chairman’s role in December that year. Based in Hawke’s Bay, he has a keen interest in strategy and is passionate about growing businesses in our region. He is a former chair the Hawke’s Bay chapter of ExportNZ and was involved in authoring the Hawke’s Bay Regional Economic Development Strategy – Matariki.

Alasdair brings a range of experience across the energy, infrastructure, technology and primary sectors. Alongside his role as chairman of Napier Port, he is chair of Hold Fast Investments Ltd and tech firm SilverStripe Ltd.

Diana joined the Napier Port board in 2017, and has a broad background in commercial, iwi and sports governance. She is a director of Ngāti Porou Holding Company and currently sits on the boards of the Tāmaki Redevelopment Company, Manawanui in Charge, New Zealand Olympic Committee, NZ Cricket and DNA Designed Communications.

Diana is of Ngāti Porou descent and is passionate about improving the lives of New Zealanders, iwi and the local communities in which we live. She has previously served as a director for Auckland Council Investments Ltd and the World Masters Games 2017. A Fellow Chartered Accountant, Diana was formerly the Chief Financial Officer of Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Corporate.

Blair was appointed to the Napier Port board in 2019. Blair is a professional company director, with governance experience in local and central government and NZX-listed companies. He is currently an independent director of NZX-listed Z Energy. He is also the former chair of Crown entity Maritime New Zealand, and was previously Chief Executive of CentrePort for seven years.

Blair is a member of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand and holds a BBS (Hons).

Stephen Moir joined the Napier Port board in 2017. He brings an extensive background in institutional banking and financial markets, having held senior roles at Westpac Institutional Bank, Credit Suisse (Singapore), and Citibank (Singapore, Thailand and Australia).

Stephen is a former director of The Guardians of the New Zealand Superannuation Fund, the Crown entity responsible for managing the New Zealand Super Fund’s global investment portfolio. He was also previously a non-executive director on the BNZ board, and chaired both BNZ Life Insurance Ltd and BNZ Insurance Services Ltd, as well as the advisory board to the Victoria University Chair of Business in Asia.

Vincent Tremaine joined the Napier Port board in February 2019. He brings a wealth of experience in the port sector, having served for 16 years as CEO of Flinders Ports Holdings, which owns seven South Australian ports.

Based in Adelaide, Vincent is currently Chairman of Riverland Holdings and a director of South Australia’s Statewide Superannuation. He has served as Chairman of both Ports Australia and the South Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry and as a director of Australia’s National Heavy Vehicle Regulator. He has also worked for Toll Ports and Resources, managing GeelongPort and Port of Hastings in Victoria.

John Harvey joined the Napier Port board in February 2019. He brings a strong background in financial services, including NZX listings, acquisitions, mergers and financial reporting. He was a partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers for 23 years, including eight years as Auckland Managing Partner.

John is currently a non-executive director of listed companies Heartland Bank, Investore Property, Stride Property Group and Kathmandu Holdings. He has previously served on the board of Port Otago for nine years, and has been a director of Ballance Agri-Nutrients and APN News and Media.

Rick joined the Napier Port board in 2019. Rick serves as the Deputy Chair of the Hawke’s Bay Regional Council, having been elected as a councillor for Hastings in October 2013. He was previously a Member of Parliament for 18 years, serving six years as a Cabinet Minister and also acting as Assistant Speaker of the House during his tenure.

Rick is currently working on behalf of the Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations on a number of negotiations to settle historic grievances against the Crown. Rick holds a Master’s degree in Public Policy.